This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Sectarian clashes: Curfew imposed in parts of Srinagar

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 28, 2012 - 19:16

Srinagar: Authorities Wednesday imposed curfew in areas under nine police stations here following sectarian clashes in the old city this afternoon.
"The District Magistrate Srinagar has imposed curfew in nine police station areas of the city," a police spokesman said.
Curfew has been imposed in Nowhatta, M R Gunj, Safakadal, Khanyar, Rainwari, Nigeen, Lal Bazaar, Zadibal and Parimpora police station areas, he said.

The curfew was imposed after sectarian clashes broke out near Hawal area in the old city, the spokesman said, adding that there are no initial reports of anyone getting injured in the clashes.

Hawal, Gojwara and adjoining areas have become flash points for sectarian violence over the past couple of years during Muharram processions.


First Published: Wednesday, November 28, 2012 - 19:16
comments powered by Disqus