This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

7 govt in 9 years: Stability remains elusive in J`khand

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 21:07

Ranchi: Moves and counter moves on the
political chessboard in Jharkhand has led seven governments
to come and go in a span of nine years since its creation.

Almost all major political parties in the state have been
in a ruling alliance at one point or the other with JMM chief
Shibu Soren heading two different coalitions -- one at the
head of the UPA and another at the head of NDA.

Former BJP president Rajnath Singh had been instrumental
in preventing Soren from becoming the first chief minister
soon after the state`s creation on November 15, 2000, by
cobbling up a loose NDA alliance headed by Babulal Marandi,
the present Jharkhand Vikar Morcha (P) chief.

The Marandi government fell on the floor of the House in
March 2003, but Rajnath, then the BJP`s in-charge of Jharkhand
Affairs, replaced Marandi with Arjun Munda.

The first assembly elections in 2005 threw a fractured
mandate and saw Soren taking over the mantle of the state.
However, he could remain in the saddle for just nine days.

Soren failed to muster support on the floor of the House
and bowed out of the office following which the BJP once again
came to power with Arjun Munda this time again heading the
government which lasted for barely one and half years.

However, rebellion began to surface in the government and
Munda was dethroned by independent MLA Madhu Koda in
September, 2006.

With the support of Congress, JMM and RJD, Koda managed
to run the state for 23 months.

Koda and three of his former cabinet colleagues are now
in jail on corruption charges.

Soren regained the mantle in August 2008, only to step
down in January 2009 after his lost an Assembly bypoll,
bringing in year-long-President`s rule in the state.

When the Assembly results on December 23 last year threw
up a fractured mandate giving JMM and BJP 18 seats each,
Rajnath and BJP leader Ananth Kumar flew down to Ranchi and
successfully checkmated Congress and ally JVM-P`s political
manoeuvring and installed Soren as Chief Minister.

However, Soren again lost the post with alliance partner
BJP today withdrawing support from the JMM-led government in
retaliation to his voting for the UPA against in Lok Sabha.


First Published: Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 21:07

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus