75% sitting MLAs lost Jharkhand polls
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Friday, December 25, 2009, 12:57
Ranchi: Around 75 per cent of sitting Jharkhand legislators lost the assembly elections, while 25 per cent retained their seats.

Leading the pack of the sitting legislators who lost was Assembly Speaker Alamgir Alam of the Congress who lost his Pakur seat.

Two former deputy chief ministers Stephen Marandi of the Congress and Sudhir Mahato of the JMM lost their Dumka and Ichagarh seats respectively.

Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee (JPCC) president Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu lost his traditional Ghatsila seat by 1182 votes.

Former ministers Joba Majhi, Dinesh Kumar Sarangi, Kamlesh Singh, Bhanu Pratap Sahi, Ranji Lal Sharda and former union minister Rameshwar Oraon and heavyweights like BJP's Saryu Rai also lost.

Prominent legislators re-elected were Jharkhand BJP unit president Raghubar Das from Jamshedpur East, AJSU president and former state Home minister Sudesh Mahto from Silli, former minister Enos Ekka from Kolebira and Harinarayan Rai from Jarmundi.

Other MLAs re-elected were Nalin Soren (JMM) Sikaripara, Bishnu Prasad Bhaiya (BJP) Jamtara, Pradeep Yadav (BJP) Poreyahat, Annapurna Devi (RJD) Koderma, Chadra Prakash Choudhary (AJSU) Ramgarh and Saurav Narayan Singh (Cong) Hazaribagh.

Vinod Kumar Singh, CPI(ML-Liberation) General Secretary was re-elected from Bagodar, Jagarnath Mahto (JMM) from Dumri, Kunti Devi (BJP) from Jharia, Mathura Prasad Mahato (JMM) from Tundi, Champai Soren (JMM) from Seraikella and Nilkanth Singh Munda (BJP) from Khunti.

Chandresh PD Singh (BJP) from Ranchi, Gopal SN Shahdeo (Cong) from Hatia, Ram Chander Baitha (BJP) from Kanke and Bidesh Singh (Independent) from Panki were re-elected.


First Published: Friday, December 25, 2009, 12:57

comments powered by Disqus