This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bye-election win has punctured malicious oppn campaign: Munda

Last Updated: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 22:05

Ranchi: Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda
on Thursday said his victory in the Kharsawan bye-elections has
"punctured" the "malicious" campaign of the opposition against
his government, which will last its full term.
In an interview to PTI-Bhasha after his victory in the
bye-elections, he said, "Meri jeet se vipaksh ke dushprachar
ki hawa nikal gayi (my victory has punctured the malicious
campaign of the opposition)."

Munda claimed that the entire opposition, including
Congress and JVM(P), had "ganged up" to "destabilise" his
government but the people of the state were with him. The
voters have given a strong reply to the opposition by way of
his victory, he said.

"I was confident of my victory and that has happened.
Only the opposition was living in a fool`s paradise and no one
can stop them from day-dreaming," he said.

He said the opposition was conspiring to bring political
instability in the state during the bye-election by raising
the issue of Chhota Nagpur Tenancy (CNT) Act dealing with OBC
land transfer but the people "understood their intentions".
The Chief Minister said that his victory will provide
added stability to his five-month old government and that it
will complete its full term. He said his government has taken
several bold initiatives to develop the state and bring
prosperity to the people and they will bear fruits soon.

Asked about the reduced margin of his victory in the
bye-elections, Munda said, "Victory is victory, the margin of
the victory hardly matters."

In the Kharsawan bye-election, Munda defeated his nearest
rival Dasharath Krishna Gagrai, a candidate of JVM(P)
supported by Congress, by a margin of 17,366 votes.

Munda had registered a win in the same constituency in
2005 assembly polls by a margin of over 52,000 votes. His
close associate Mangal Singh Soy had also won the November
2009 assembly elections from this constituency by a margin of
over 25,000 votes. Mangal vacated the seat for Munda to get
him in the assembly as per the constitutional requirement.

Arjun Munda had taken oath as the Chief Minister of the
state on September 11, 2010 for the third time, leading a
coalition government of BJP-JMM-AJSU-JDU and others and as per
the constitutional norms he had to get elected to the state
assembly within six months -- not later than March 10, 2011.


First Published: Thursday, February 17, 2011 - 22:05
comments powered by Disqus