CPI to contest 3 LS seats in Jharkhand, CPI-M 2

Last Updated: Friday, January 17, 2014 - 18:50

Ranchi: CPI and CPI(M) on Friday said the parties would contest three and two seats respectively in the Lok Sabha polls in Jharkhand.

"CPI(M) has decided to field former party MLAs Rajendra Singh Munda and Jyotin Soren from Ranchi and Raj Mahal Lok Sabha seats respectively," party`s Jhakrhand unit Secretary G K Bakshi told a press conference here in the presence of Politburo member Brinda Karat.

Contacted, CPI state unit secretary Bhubaneswar Prasad Mehta said his party would support the CPI(M) in the state.

Prasad, himself a candidate from Hazaribagh, said party leaders Chhaya Kol and Banwari Sao would fight from Dumka and Chatra constituencies respectively in the 2014 General Elections.

"The state committee has sent the three names to the Central Committee for approval. We will talk to non-BJP and non-Congress parties for support. In the event of dialogues not materialising, the party will also field candidates in Godda, Koderma and Giridih," Mehta said.

Marxist Coordination Committee MLA and the party state committee member Arup Chatterjee said the party has decided to contest from Dhanbad seat.

"The candidate`s name for Dhanbad will be announced in the first week of February. We are also thinking to field a candidate in Ranchi. But it is not yet final as talks are on with some parties," Chatterjee said.
Jharkhand has 14 Lok Sabha seats.


First Published: Friday, January 17, 2014 - 18:50

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus