Jharkhand independent for RS polls withdraws

Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 14:59

Ranchi: Independent candidate Anshuman
Mishra withdrew his nomination for the Rajya Sabha elections
from Jharkhand on the last date of withdrawal on Thursday.

One of his proposers, BJP MLA BK Gagarai, withdrew
the nomination on Mishra`s behalf, Returning Officer KK
Prasad said.

Prasad said that according to norms, the candidate
himself, his agent or any of the proposers could withdraw the

BJP leader Yashwant Sinha had objected to the party
backing Mishra, an NRI businessman, saying the seat was being

Mishra had earlier said that he had no intention to
withdraw from the race unless the party leadership directed

Following Mishra`s withdrawal there are five
candidates for the March 30 elections for the two Rajya Sabha
seats from the state -- Pradip Kumar Balmuchu (Congress),
Praveen Kumar Singh (Jharkhand Vikash Morcha-Prajatantrik),
Sanjiv Kumar, (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) and two Independents, RK Agarwal and Pawan Kumar Dhoot.


First Published: Thursday, March 22, 2012 - 14:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus