This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Ranchi: Ahead of its five-phase Assembly polls from November 25, political leaders across parties in Jharkhand have condemned defections and said only the electorate can stop this trend by voting them out in elections.

"Ethics and morality are no more a part of politics and Jharkhand is no exception. Opportunistic politicians have undermined the credibility in politics," Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee Vice President Gulfam Mujibi said.

"It is the duty of the people to judge these opportunists and they should not vote for such politicians," Mujibi said admitting that even in his party such politicians did join.

Politicians mostly leave or join any party during elections only to get a ticket, he said.

Jharkhand Assembly Speaker Shashank Sekhar Bhokta of JMM said, "Talking about ethics and morals in present day politics is a futile debate. There is a huge gap of ethical politics of Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, and Sardar Patel. Ethical politics may return in future, and it is in the hands of the people."

He cited how people accepted one "opportunist" and defeated another in this year's Lok Sabha elections in Jharkhand.

"The goers (politicians) and takers (parties) are equally responsible for the opportunistic politics," said former MP Suraj Mandal, who had quit JMM long ago and floated Jharkhand Vikas Dal before returning to the parent party only to leave it again.

Sitting MLA from Hatia, Naveen Jaiswal, who quit AJSU recently said, "AJSU leadership conceded the sitting seat to BJP, so I have joined the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha."

Former AJSU Vice-president and now a BJP leader, Praveen Prabhakar said, "political benefit and dissatisfaction with the leadership are main reasons for defections."

"Barring left parties, political structure of all other parties are the same and development is the main issue of all parties," said Prabhakar, who had been in the Janata Dal (U) before returning to AJSU and quitting it a second time to join the BJP this year.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 25 25 14
CONG 12 12 -5
NC 15 15 -13
PDP 28 28 7
OTH 7 7 -3
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP+ 42 42 19
CONG 6 6 -8
JMM 19 19 1
JVM+ 8 8 -3
OTH 6 6 -9
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps