Jharkhand reels under political instability
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, July 08, 2013, 19:35
Ranchi: Jharkhand is set to witness another political re-alignment with Chief Minister hopeful Hemant Soren of JMM trying to stitch an alliance to give the state its 9th government since its inception 13 years ago.

The state has already seen eight governments and four chief ministers -- Babulal Marandi (Nov 2000 to March 2003), Arjun Munda (2003/2005/2010), Shibu Soren (2005/2008/2009) and Madhu Koda (2006) since it attained statehood on November 15, 2000.

"Fully aware of this background and his father Shibu Soren's three short terms as chief minister like the other three ex-CMs, Hemant will have to walk a tight rope especially with some Independent MLAs who are hard bargainers," senior JDU leader Pramod Mishra said.

"The reason for the political instability of Jharkhand is rooted to small parties and Independents wining on micro issues playing vital role in government formations," said Stephen Marandi, Congress leader and former deputy chief minister.

"Less number of assembly seats has also affected political stability," said Marandi, who lost to Hemant in the 2009 assembly elections from Dumka.

"Loss of credibility of political leaders is another reason behind the fractured mandate received in 2009," he said apparently referring to the corruption charges against a host of political leaders and legislators.

AJSU President and former Deputy Chief Minister Sudesh Mahto said that lack of leadership hurt the state most.

JMM (18 MLAs), backed by the Congress (13 MLAs) and the RJD (5), has secured letters of support from some independent MLAs and is hopeful to get support from the Marxist Coordination Committee MLA Arup Chatterjee as well to muster the required majority in the 82-member house before it goes to Raj Bhavan to stake claim.


First Published: Monday, July 08, 2013, 19:35

comments powered by Disqus