MLAs take oath in new Jharkhand assembly

Last Updated: Monday, January 4, 2010 - 15:59

Ranchi: Seventy newly elected members of
the 81-member Jharkhand assembly on Monday took oath.

BJP-LP leader Raghuvar Das and AJSU-LP leader Sudesh
Mahto, the two ministers who were sworn in with Chief Minister
Shibu Soren on December 30, were the first two members to take
the oath.

Soren, who is a Lok Sabha member, was also present.

Former Chief Minister Madhu Koda`s wife, Geeta Koda,
was one of the MLAs who took the oath.

Prominent absentees were Soren`s daughter-in-law Sita
Soren and son Hemant Soren.

Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch MLA Bandhu Tirkey and
Rastriya Kalyan Paksh MLA Chamra Linda, who have given support
to the Soren-led government, were sitting beside the treasury

Pro-tem Teklal Mahto presided.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, January 4, 2010 - 15:59

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus