This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Seven Latehar villages not to vote in Jharkhand elections

Last Updated: Friday, October 30, 2009 - 21:04

Latehar: Seven villages in
Jharkhand`s Latehar assembly constituency today decided not to
vote in protest against the failure to finish the construction
of a river-bridge, the foundation of which was laid three
years ago.

About fifty elders of Dihimari, Tubed, Newari, Mangra,
Luti, Amejharan and Banbirua villages took the decision in a
meeting, their representaive said.
"The foundation for the bridge across Tubed river was
laid during the Chief Ministership of Arjun Munda about three
years ago. Slow pace has left the work incomplete," he said.

For the last fifteen years, he added, the villagers
have been using a circuitous route to reach the other side of
the river facing hardship.

They have also decided not to allow political leaders
to campaign in their villages which falls under the Latehar
(SC) assembly constitutency, going for polls in the fifth and
final phase on December 18.

Bureau Report

First Published: Friday, October 30, 2009 - 21:04
comments powered by Disqus