Sibu Soren re-elected JMM chief
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, September 22, 2010, 19:32
Dumka: Sibu Soren has been re-elected unopposed as the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha president for the seventh time in a row at the party's ongoing convention here.

Soren, who took over as the party chief for the first time after the then president Nirmal Mahto was gunned down in August 1987 in Jamshedpur, called upon the party rank and file to remain united and resolve differences.

Noting that government officials in the state were not discharging their duties sincerely, the former Chief Minister regretted that the people of mineral-rich Jharkhand were poor due to lack of development and advocated Panchayat elections in the state.

Several other states which procured minerals including coal from Jharkhand "have prospered", he said.

Senior party leader and former minister of state Hemlal Murmu later said JMM decided to field its candidate in 85 seats in the forthcoming assembly election in Bihar.

Besides, the party has also decided to intensify the demand for 'Greater Jharkhand' comprising tribal-dominated parts of West Bengal, Orissa and Bihar, apart from Jharkhand, he told reporters.

JMM also pledged to ensure that no starvation deaths would take place in the face of famine-like situation due to scanty rainfall this year and promise a corruption-free government.

Murmu said an apex body of the party 'Sarvoch Sangathan Sanchalan-sah-Salakar Parishad', to run the organization-cum-advisory council, was formed after making an amendment in the party's constitution.

Hemant Soren, the Deputy Chief Minister of Jharkhand, will be the Chairman of the new body, which also consists of members-cum-senior party leaders Champai Soren, Sudhir Mahto, Nalin Soren, Haji Hussain Ansari, Mathura Prasad Mahto, Suprio Bhattacharjee, Phago Besra and Shashank Shekhar Bhogta, he


First Published: Wednesday, September 22, 2010, 19:32

comments powered by Disqus