Three aspirants for two RS seats in Jharkhand

Last Updated: Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 20:21

Ranchi: JMM, Congress and BJP will vie for
two Rajya Sabha seats tomorrow in Jharkhand where the
assembly, which is in suspended animation, has a strength of
81 elected MLAs.

The Congress, which has 14 MLAs and is backed by
Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) with its 11 MLAs has
re-nominated Dheeraj Prasad Sahu and is confident of his win.

"A meeting held during the day was attended by
independent MLA Gita Koda and Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch MLA
Bandhu Tirkey. They assured us of their support. This makes
the number of MLAs supporting us 27. We also have the support
of may other MLAs," claimed Jharkhand PCC spokesman Sailesh

An equally upbeat BJP spokesman Sanjay Seth said "The
BJP/JDU has 20 MLAs and we expect to see through our candidate
Ajay Maroo. We appeal to all the MLAs cutting across party
lines to vote for our candidate."

The 18-MLA JMM has fielded the head of Chandigarh-based
Alchemist Hospital Group, K D Singh, and has the support of
the five-MLA AJSU party.

"We are with the JMM-led alliance. Therefore, their
candidate is our candidate. Our MLAs will vote for K D Singh,"
AJSU vice-president Pravin Prabhakar, said.

RJD, which has five MLAs, will take its decision on whom
to vote tomorrow morning, RJDLP leader Anapurna Devi said.

Jharkhand Party(Ekka) MLA Enos Ekka and independent
MLA Harinarayan Rai are currently under judcial custody, while
CPI(ML-Liberation) MLA Vinod Singh will not vote.

"Our MLA will not vote as we strongly feel there will
be horse trading," the party`s spokesman J P Minz said.

The requisite quota for a win by a candidate is 28
provided all the 81 MLAs voted and votes are found valid, said
a senior official of the state assembly secretariat.


First Published: Wednesday, June 16, 2010 - 20:21

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map