This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

At last, BBMP has standing committees

Last Updated: Friday, September 20, 2013 - 18:27

Bangalore: The much-delayed election for the various standing committees of the BBMP was finally completed on Monday, amid intense lobbying by corporators for plum posts and much give-and-take by political leaders.

The meeting to elect the committee members for standing committees was scheduled at 10 am, but regional commissioner Gaurav Gupta had to postpone the meeting for four times for lack of quorum, when at 3.30 pm, he was finally able to begin the formalities.

Heavyweight ministers from the city, like minister for transport Ramalinga Reddy, minister for food and civil supplies Dinesh Gundu Rao, former minister R Ashok, MLAs Roshan Baig, MLAs RV Devaraj, Aravind Limbavali and others were busy in lobbying for their supporters.

The intense tug-of-war for the committee posts led to some bickering and BJP MLC Ashwathnarayan was seen leaving the meeting hall in a huff. “Former minister Ashoka asked me to contact (former minister) Somanna for details of the members recommended for the standing committees. Why should I ask Somanna for such details? I left the place within a few minutes,’’ said Ashwathnarayan.

At the end of it all, the corporators who were elected for the 12 standing committees are: Taxation and Finance - Dr MS Shivaprasad (ward no.35 Aramane); Public Health - N Shashirekha Jayaram (195 Konanakunte); Town Planning and Development Committee - K Umesh Shetty (128 Nagarabhavi); Major Works Committee - B Somasekhar (179 Shakambari); Ward Level Public Works - Basavaraju H (180 Banashankari Temple); Accounts - Rekha Kadiresh (138 Chalawadi); Education- A Kodanda Reddy (27 Banaswadi); Social Justice - Syed Haseena Taj (190 Mangammanapalya); Appeals - R Chandrasekhariah (133 Hampinagara); Horticulture - M Muniraju (4 Yelahanka Satellite Town).

First Published: Friday, September 20, 2013 - 18:27

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus