This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

BJP releases 2nd candidates list, mum on taint

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 9, 2013 - 22:09

Bangalore: Ruling BJP in Karnataka on Tuesday released the second list of 35 candidates for the May 5 Assembly elections, refraining from taking a call on fielding tainted MLAs.

The list was finalised by the BJP Central Election Committee which met in New Delhi under the Presidentship of Rajnath Singh, party General Secretary H N Ananth Kumar said in a statement here.

The CEC meeting was attended by BJP leaders L.K. Advani, Sushma Swaraj and all members of the panel, he said.

As in the first list of 140 candidates released on April 5, suspense continues over the fate of former ministers Katta Subramanya Naidu and Krishnaiah Setty as also Y Sampangi who are facing corruption charges and had gone to jail.

Minister V Somanna, who had initially showed signs of dithering on continuing in BJP, has been renominated to contest from Bangalore, days after he made it clear he would not join Karnataka Jantha Paksha led by former party strongman B S Yeddyurappa.

S H Manjunath will take on Yeddyurappa in his bastion in Shikaripura constituency in Shimoga district.

BJP`s principal rival Congress has released the first list containing the names of 177 candidates, which has caused heartburn particularly among leaders seeking tickets for their kin.


First Published: Tuesday, April 9, 2013 - 22:09

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus