Congress wins Udupi Lok Sabha bypoll
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, March 21, 2012, 11:56
Zeenews Bureau

Bangalore: In a setback to Chief Minister DV Sadananda Gowda, the Congress Wednesday won the bypoll to the Udupi-Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat in Karnataka with its nominee K Jayaprakash Hegde defeating the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party's V Sunil Kumar.

Congress’ Hegde secured 3,98,723 votes as against 3,52,999 votes secured by BJP’s Kumar, a winning margin of over 50,000 votes.

Janata Dal-Secular nominee SL Bhoje Gowda was third with 72,080.

Around 68 percent of the 1.24 million eligible voters had cast their ballots in the bypoll caused by BJP's DV Sadananda Gowda vacating the seat after becoming Chief Minister in August last year.

With IANS inputs

First Published: Wednesday, March 21, 2012, 09:38

comments powered by Disqus