This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

K’ taka Assembly adjourned sine die amid oppn boycott

Last Updated: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 19:01

Zeenews Bureau

Bangalore: The Karnataka Assembly was on Thursday adjourned sine die following a standoff between ruling BJP and the Opposition Congress and JD-S over the allegations of corruption against the government of Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa.

As the House met today, Congress and JD(S) members trooped into the well and said recommendations of the Appachu Ranjan Committee, on the "unruly" conduct of 15 legislators during the October 11 confidence vote, had been leaked to the media before being tabled in the Assembly.

Citing breach of privilege, the Opposition demanded that the matter be referred to the Privileges Committee.

The motion for breach of privilege was sought to be moved by Sharan Prakash Rudrappa Patil and NL Narendra Babu (both Congress).

Speaker KG Bopaiah said he had just received the notice for the motion and would take appropriate action after examining it.

The Opposition demanded that the Appachu Ranjan legislative committee report should not be placed in the House till the Privileges Committee gave its recommendations.

Leader of Opposition Siddaramaiah (Congress) then sought to highlight the alleged scams and charged, "This Government has looted Rs one lakh crore."
As Opposition members raised anti-government slogans, he said, "We have not been allowed to discuss (the alleged scams) under (Rule) 60. Yeddyurappa has to resign. The BJP government has to resign. Probe should be handed over to CBI."

The Opposition members, who have been demanding discussion on corruption since last two days, then staged a walk-out from the House raising slogans against the government.

The Speaker then conducted the proceedings as per the day`s agenda, without the presence of the Opposition.
Among the reports tabled today included the Appachu Ranjan Committee report, as also the D Hemachandra Sagar-chaired special house committee which went into the untoward incidents during the election of the Speaker on December 30, 2009.

The committee led by BJP MLA Appachu Ranjan has recommended to Speaker KG Bopaiah the suspension of eight MLAs for a year and seven MLAs for six months. All the MLAs who have been recommended for suspension are from the Congress and Janata Dal(Secular).

(With PTI Inputs)

First Published: Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 19:01

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus