Karnataka BJP MLA quits as Assembly chief whip
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, November 02, 2010, 00:49
Bangalore: The BJP government in Karnataka today suffered an embarassment as its MLA D N Jeevaraj quit as Chief Whip in the assembly in the wake of doubts over his induction into the ministry in a proposed reshuffle of the B S Yeddyurappa cabinet on November 3.

"Yes I have resigned from post of Chief Whip. I have submitted my resignation letter to Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa", Jeevaraj, who represents Sringeri Assembly constituency in Chikmagalur district, told PTI here.

"I have served as Chief Whip for about four years. Now, I have quit", Jeevaraj, a strong ministerial berth contender, said.

Asked about his future moves, Jeevaraj said "I will act as God directs me" and refused to divulge whether he also contemplated giving up his assembly membership.

Party sources said Jeevaraj's action comes in the backdrop of his not reportedly finding favour with Yeddyurappa in the next round of cabinet expansion, likely on November 3 and the likely induction state party spokesman C T Ravi.

Jeevaraj had earlier threatended to turn a rebel when he was not inducted in the ministry in the last round of expansion on September 22.

Yeddyurappa plans to fill four of the six vacant ministerial berths but the move has already run into trouble.

Soon after the September 22 ministry expansion, opposed by a section of MLAs, including some ministers who were against re-induction of Shobha Karandlaje and V Somanna, Yeddyurappa faced a major rebellion and threat to his government after 19 MLAs, including five independents, withdrew support.

Yeddyurappa got 16 MLAs, including 11 from his party, disqualified under the provisions of the anti-defection law.

Meanwhile it is learnt that mining magnates and three ministers of Bellary, led by Tourism Minister G Janardhana Reddy, are also opposed to the ministry expansion and want a reshuffle of the ministry.


First Published: Tuesday, November 02, 2010, 00:49

comments powered by Disqus