This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Three assembly constituencies in K`taka to go polls on April 9

Last Updated: Sunday, March 13, 2011 - 00:30

Bangalore: The Election Commission on Saturday
announced the schedule for bye-election on April nine in three
assembly constituencies in Karnataka.

Chennapatna, Jagalur (ST) and Bangarpet (SC)
constituencies will go to bypolls follow resignations by M C
Ashwath (JDS) from his Chennapatna seat and S V Ramachandra
and M Narayanaswamy (both Congress) from their assembly
memberships from Jagalur and Bangarapet constituencies
All three former MLAs later joined BJP, drawing
allegations from the opposition that ruling BJP had lured the
legislators as part of its "operation lotus".

The opposition alleged BJP revived `operation lotus`
after eleven of its rebel MLAs and five independents withdrew
support to Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa`s government in

Yeddyurappa, however, has denied the allegations, saying
those who were joining BJP were doing so "voluntarily".

EC has not taken a decision over holding a bypoll in
Koppal assembly constituency which fell vacant recently
following the resignation by JDS member Karadi Sanganna who
the opposition allege also quit due to `operation lotus`.

The 224-member Karnataka legislative assembly still has
17 vacancies.
Sixteen MLAs have been disqualified under the provisions
of the anti-defection law and Sanganna resigned on March 3.


First Published: Sunday, March 13, 2011 - 00:30

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus