Yeddy 3rd CM from Shimoga not to complete tenure

Last Updated: Sunday, July 31, 2011 - 18:19

Bangalore: B S Yeddyurappa, whom the BJP
forced to quit office on Sunday is the third chief minister from
Karnataka`s Shimoga district not to complete full term.

S Bangarappa and J H Patel are the two other leaders
who had incomplete terms in office.

Bangarappa, who was in Congress, became the chief
minister in 1990, but had to quit after his party high command
directed to vacate the post in 1992.
Patel, who succeeded H D Devegowda after his elevation
as Prime Minister in 1997, dissolved the Assembly in 1999 -- a
few months ahead of its tenure in the wake of rebellion
against him.
Other chief ministers who had served short term
include N Dharam Singh of Congress, whose Congress-JDS
coalition government was toppled by JDS in 2006, and H D
Kumaraswamy, who resigned in 2007 after his coalition partner
BJP pulled out of the government.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Sunday, July 31, 2011 - 18:19

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus