Chandrasekharan murder case: Kingpin of killer gang held

Last Updated: Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 14:50

Kannur: In a breakthrough in the politically sensitive TP Chandrasekharan murder case, police have taken into custody kingpin of the killer gang and two others, who were suspected to have hacked to death the Marxist rebel and RMP leader last month.

According to police, Kodi Suni, who led the team that carried out the murder, `Keermani` Manoj and Shafi were tracked down and captured from a remote area near Irutty in Kannur district last night.

Acting on clues obtained from mobile phone calls, police team set out to the hill-locked hamlet and caught hold of the suspects from a hut where they had been staying for the last few days.

Three of their local accomplices were also taken into custody, police said.
The investigators have been on the look out for Suni and the two others as it was suspected that they led the hit-squad that brutally murdered Chandrasekharan on May 4 at Vallikkad near his native Onjiyam village in Kozhikode district.

Once a prominent local leader of the CPI(M),Chandrasekharan was expelled from the party a few years back after he questioned the leadership over idelological and organisational issues.

He later floated Reveolutionary Marxist Party, a platform of CPI(M) dissidents which challenged the supremacy of the party in its traditional fortress.
Besides the three members of the gang, several local CPI(M) activists have been arrested in connection with the case as it was suspected that the murder was result of a conspiracy hatched by local party bosses.

CPI(M) leadership, however, refuted the charge that the party has any role in the murder and alleged political bias in the investigation.


First Published: Thursday, June 14, 2012 - 14:40

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map