CM to go ahead with Programme despite LDF threat to block it

Last Updated: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 21:20

Thiruvananthapuram: Notwithstanding CPI-M led LDF Opposition`s plan to block the Jana Samparka Paripadi (People`s Mass Contact Programme) on the solar scam issue, Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on Tuesday asserted he would go ahead with programme, scheduled to start on October 18.

"There is no change in the programme and it will go on as per schedule", Chandy said when asked about the threat of LDF to block the programme as part of their agitation, demanding his resignation over the solar scam.

The Chief Minister said people opposing the programme are actually opposing the people of the state.

Nearly one lakh applications on various issues has already been received as complaints were received on-line for the second phase of the Mass Contract Programme, which was acclaimed by even the United Nations, sources said.

The mass contact programme starting from Thiruvananthapuram on October 18 will cover all 14 districts and end on November 26.

During the programme, Chandy will meet people, listen to their complaints and ensure that these are sorted out by following it up with officials.

Ever since the solar panel scam broke out, LDF has been blocking the Chief Minister`s programmes. An earlier Left Front meet had decided to block the JSP programme.

The second phase of JSP, originally scheduled to be held in August last, had to be cancelled over the Left`s protest.

CPI-M Politburo member Kodiyeri Balakrishnan said LDF would oppose the programme as "it is a drama of the Chief Minister to defraud the people".

The solar scam pertains to cheating of scores of people by accused Biju Radhakrishnan and Saritha Nair, both under arrest, by offering clients solar energy solutions. They allegedly flaunted their clout with the CM`s office to dupe unsuspecting clients of huge sums.


First Published: Tuesday, October 15, 2013 - 21:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map