This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections 2016 Results


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 3
TMC 0 211
CPM+ 0 32
CONG 0 44
OTH 0 4

Tamil nadu (234)

Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
AIADMK 0 134
DMK+ 0 98
DMDK+ 0 0
OTH 0 0

Assam (126)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 86
CONG+ 0 26
AIUDF+ 0 13
OTH 0 1

Kerala (140)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 1
LDF 0 82
UDF 0 47
OTH 0 10


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
CONG+ 0 17
OTH 0 9

Congress yet to finalise Kerala candidates

Last Updated: Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 00:09

New Delhi/Thiruvananthapuram: The Congress on Tuesday cleared at least 50 names for the 82 seats it is contesting in the Kerala assembly elections, but party sources said the final list may take some time as objections have been raised by a few top leaders.

Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala and state Congress president V.M. Sudheeran are involved in the talks with the party's screening committee in Delhi.

A party leader who did not wish to be named said Sudheeran was "a bit tough on a few names", and Chandy and Chennithala were "putting up a joint effort" to clear them.

Sudheeran has reportedly objected to a few names, including those of Excise Minister K. Babu and Revenue Minister Adoor Prakash, to which Chandy and Chennithala have disagreed.

Chandy will return to the state capital on Wednesday but would be back in Delhi on Thursday, when the entire list would be cleared by the screening committee.

The high command will announce the list early next month, party sources said.

Polls for the 140-member Kerala assembly will be held on May 16

First Published: Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 00:09
comments powered by Disqus