Karthikeyan elected Kerala Assembly Speaker
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 18:53
Thiruvananthapuram: Congress nominee G Karthikeyan was on Thursday elected as the Speaker of the Kerala Assembly, defeating CPI(M) candidate A K Balan.

Senior Congress legislator Karthikeyan secured 73 votes against former minister Balan's 68.

The effective strength of the House stood at 141 with the nominated Anglo-Indian member L Luis taking oath along with 140 elected members yesterday.

Pro tem speaker N Sakthan (Congress) presided over the proceedings of the House.


First Published: Thursday, June 02, 2011, 18:53

comments powered by Disqus