This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections 2016 Results


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 3
TMC 0 211
CPM+ 0 32
CONG 0 44
OTH 0 4

Tamil nadu (234)

Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
AIADMK 0 134
DMK+ 0 98
DMDK+ 0 0
OTH 0 0

Assam (126)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 86
CONG+ 0 26
AIUDF+ 0 13
OTH 0 1

Kerala (140)

Party Lead Won
BJP+ 0 1
LDF 0 82
UDF 0 47
OTH 0 10


Party Lead Won
BJP 0 0
CONG+ 0 17
OTH 0 9

Kerala Assembly Elections 2016: 'Tainted' K Babu says he is confident of winning

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 6, 2016 - 16:04
Zee Media Bureau

Kochi: Kerala Excise Minister K Babu on Tuesday exuded confidence that he would retain Thrippunithura seat in the upcoming Assembly Elections.

His reaction came a day after Congress high command approved his candidature even after his nomination was reportedly opposed by KPCC president VM Sudheeran.

"I will win. I have been representing Thrippunithura for last 25 years. I know the people of my constituency. They will re-elect me. There will be a continuation of the UDF government in the state after the polls," Babu, a Chief Minister Oommen Chandy's confidant, told reporters here.


Meanwhile, CPI(M) leader and former MP, P Rajeeve, hit out at the Congress leadership for fielding "tainted leaders" like Babu.

"Candidature of leaders like Babu is a blot on the Congress. We have fielded our youth wing leader M Swaraj to take on Babu. We are certain that the people of Thrippunithura will definitely punish those who are corrupt," Rajeeve, who is also the Ernakulam district secretary of the CPI(M), said.

Working president of Kerala Bar Owners Association Biju Ramesh had alleged Babu was given Rs 10 crore as bribe for renewal of licences of liquor bars, a charge rubbished by the Congress leader.


Babu had strongly rejected the charge saying there is no case pending against him in any court of the country over the issue.

(With PTI inputs)

First Published: Wednesday, April 6, 2016 - 16:04
comments powered by Disqus