Seven bishops for Malankara Orthodox Church
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, May 12, 2010, 18:18
Kottayam: Seven priests were ordained as new Bishops of Malankara Orthodox Church at a function at the Eliya Cathedral here today.

Catholicos Baselios Marthomas Didymos-I, head of Malankara orthodox church and Catholicose designate Paulose Mar Milithios and 24 other Bishops of the denomination participated in the services.

Yuhanon Ramban (Kollam), Nathaniel Ramban (Vazhuvadi) Yakob Ramban (Budhanoor), Yuhanon Ramban (Kurampala), Zacharia Ramban (Chunkathara), Geevarghese Ramban (Kunnamkulam) and Abrahan Ramban (Eram) were the new bishops.

They were elected by the Malankara association at its meeting at Sasthamkotta on February 12.

With their consecration, the number of Bishops in Malankara Orthodox Church has risen to 33 from 26.A civic reception will be accorded to the newly ordained Bishops at Kottakkatu Convention Centre at Nalanchira in Thiruvananthapuram on May 18.


First Published: Wednesday, May 12, 2010, 18:18

comments powered by Disqus