This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Sounderrajan elected TN CPI(M) legislature party leader

Last Updated: Sunday, May 15, 2011 - 20:41

Chennai: CITU Tamil Nadu unit secretary
and CPI(M) Legislator from Perambur constituency, A Sounderrajan, was on Sunday elected as leader of CPI(M)
legislature party.

Party`s state unit secretary G Ramakrishnan said that
Sounderrajan, a veteran trade union leader, was elected

K Balabarathy and K Balakrishnan were elected Deputy
Leader and Whip respectively, he said.

CPI(M), who faced the polls as an ally of AIADMK, won
ten of the 12 seats it had contested.
Ramakrishnan said his party would function as a
constructive opposition and hoped that the next government
headed by AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa would focus on solving
key issues like power cut, price rise and problems faced by
the farmers.

Meanwhile, CPI also echoed similar views while
referring to issues that were before the next government.
At a separate press conference, CPI State unit
secretary D Pandian said people had voted for change and
expected issues such as power cut to be addressed at the


For more news in Malayalam, click

First Published: Sunday, May 15, 2011 - 20:41

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus