This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

All eyes on Sushma Swaraj as 10 LS seats go to polls in MP tomorrow

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 15:28

Zee Media Bureau

Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh will hold the third and final phase of Lok Sabha polls on Thursday. In fray will be the remaining 10 out of the total 29 Parliamentary seats.

The polling will be held tomorrow in Vidisha, Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, Khandwa and Betul.

As per election officials, over 1.6 crore people are eligible to vote tomorrow. A majority of them are expected to seal the fate of 118 candidates Thursday.
Prominent candidates whose fate will be sealed in EVMs tomorrow include BJP leaders Sushma Swaraj (Vidisha) and Sumitra Mahajan (Indore).

Other leading candidates contesting are Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh`s younger brother Laxman Singh (Vidisha), state Congress president Arun Yadav from Khandwa, former union minister Kantilal Bhuria (Congress) from Ratlam, as well as Congress national secretary Sajjan Singh Verma from Dewas.

Senior BJP leader Sumitra Mahajan (BJP) from Indore, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi`s close aide Meenakshi Natarajan from Mandsaur and Ajay Shah (Congress) from Betul are also in the fray.

Polling for the first phase in Madhya Pradesh was held on April 10 for nine seats, while under the second phase, polling was held on April 17 for 10 seats.
Of tomorrow`s 10 seats, the one that will grab the maximum attention will be Vidisha where Sushma Swaraj is pitted against Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh`s younger brother Laxman Singh.

Vidisha has been BJP`s stronghold for the last 25 years.

Sushma had won the Lok Sabha polls from Vidisha in 2009 with a huge margin of 3,89,844 votes, defeating Samajwadi Party`s Choudhary Munnawar Salim in the absence of any challenge from Congress.

(With PTI inputs)

First Published: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 15:28
comments powered by Disqus