MP assembly pays tribute to Mumbai blasts victims
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, July 14, 2011, 16:45
Bhopal: Strongly condemning the serial blasts in Mumbai, Madhya Pradesh Assembly on Thursday paid homage to the victims by expressing its grief with the family members of those killed in the terror act.

Soon after the House assembled for the day, the Speaker, Ishwardas Rohani, mentioned about the yesterday's serial blasts in Mumbai and termed it as the most cowardly act and heart-rending incident.

At least 21 people were killed and 141 injured in three blasts that rocked Mumbai last evening.

The House was adjourned for five minutes to express condolences with the deceased.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister, Shivraj Singh Chouhan said that the country's morale will not subside in wake of such attacks.

In fact these incidents give an opportunity to the country to fight against such forces with more determination by rising above party politics, he said.

Chouhan informed the House that in the Zaveri Bazaar blast, Sunil Jain of Panna who was engaged in the business of diamond trade, was killed while another local from Panna, Dharmendra Jadia and Sudhir Jain of Shahgarh town in Sagar district, were seriously injured.

Chouhan said that the state government was taking care of their medical treatment and will do everything possible to provide relief to the affected persons.

He said country was enraged over the incident as innocent people were targeted again by terrorists.

The chief minister also said that a high alert has already been sounded in the entire state and appealed the people to cooperate in maintaining security and harmony in the state.

Leader of Opposition, Ajay Singh also strongly condemned the dastardly act and added that the terrorists were trying to weaken the country by targeting common people, but they will not budge.

He urged the chief minister to ensure safety and security of the people in the state.

Deputy Leader of the Congress Legislature Party, Choudhry Rakesh Singh Chaturvedi, BSP Legislature Party Leader, Ramlakhan Singh and Independent Paras Saklecha also condemned the incident.

Later, the house observed a two-minute silence as a mark of respect to those killed in the blast.


First Published: Thursday, July 14, 2011, 16:45

comments powered by Disqus