BJP dumps Sena, occupy Mayor, Dy Mayor post
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, March 05, 2012, 22:28
Nagpur: The ruling BJP which had struck pre-poll alliance with its traditional partner Shiv Sena on Monday dumped the latter during the mayoral elections.

BJP's city unit president Anil Sole became the new Mayor of Nagpur Municipal Corporation while party nominee Sandeep Jadhav was elected as the Deputy Mayor.

Sole polled 86 votes and defeated BSP candidate Kishore Gajbhiye who got 52 votes. Congress nominee Sujata Kombade withdrew her candidature. The NCP (six members) remained neutral.

For Deputy Mayor's post, BJPs Jadhav secured 86 votes while BSP's Shambnam Parveen mustered 58 votes including six from NCP. BJP, for the first time, did not offer the post of Deputy Mayor to Sena.


First Published: Monday, March 05, 2012, 22:28

comments powered by Disqus