BMC polls: Congress tries to put united face again
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Saturday, November 26, 2011, 19:42
Mumbai: In an attempt to bring the warring factions of Mumbai Congress together, the party has included former union ministers Gurudas Kamat and Murli Deora in the committee to discuss seat sharing with the NCP for the next year's crucial civic elections.

Factions led by Kamat and Deora, both former city presidents, and current unit chief Kripashankar Singh have been at loggerheads for long on the seat sharing issue.

Congress is determined to wrest Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) from the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance which has ruled it for the last 15 years and wants to ensure that factionalism is not an hurdle in achieving its goal, party sources said.

The party panel for Mumbai comprises city unit chief Kripashankar Singh, Leader of Opposition in the civic body Rajhans Singh, state Industries Minister Narayan Rane, state Women and Child Development Minister Varsha Gaikwad, state Textiles Minister Mohammed Arif Naseem Khan, Murli Deora and Gurudas Kamat.

Kamat is also a member of the state committee that will decide seat sharing with NCP for ten municipal corporations, the elections for which will also be held in February next year.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, MPCC president Manikrao Thakre, Kripashankar Singh, state Industries Minister Narayan Rane and state Forest minister Patangrao Kadam are the other members of the Committee.

The NCP's state committee includes Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, state party president Madhukar Pichad, PWD minister Chhagan Bhujbal, state Home Minister R R Patil and state Rural Development Minister Jayant Patil.

Apart from Mumbai, elections will be held for Thane, Pune, Nagpur, Solapur, Amravati, Akola, Ulhasnagar, Nashik and Pimpri Chinchwad municipal corporations.


First Published: Saturday, November 26, 2011, 19:42

comments powered by Disqus