This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Chandgad Assembly by-poll: NCP`s Kupekar wins

Last Updated: Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 16:16

Kolhapur: NCP candidate Sandhyadevi Babasaheb Kupekar on Thursday won the Chandgad Assembly seat by-election in Maharashtra`s Kolhapur district by a margin of 24,847 votes.

The by-poll was necessitated following the death of sitting NCP MLA Babasaheb Kupekar in September last year.

The voting for the by-poll had taken place on February 24, for which only three candidates had filed their nomination.

Apart from Sandhyadevi, Rajendra Shamrav Gaddyanwar was the candidate of Swabhimani Shetkari Sangathana, while Sunil Arjun Shintre contested on a Shiv Sena ticket.

Sandhyadevi, the wife of Babasaheb Kupekar, won the seat against her nearest rival Gaddyanwar.

Sandhyadevi polled 93,486 votes, while Gaddyanwar got 68,639 votes.


First Published: Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 16:16
comments powered by Disqus