Congress gets severe drubbing, MNS is wiped out in Mumbai

 Congress, which had bagged 17 of the total 36 Assembly constituencies in Mumbai in 2009, fared miserably this time, managing to retain only five seats.

Mumbai: Congress, which had bagged 17 of the total 36 Assembly constituencies in Mumbai in 2009, fared miserably this time, managing to retain only five seats.

BJP won 15 and Shiv Sena 14 seats. MIM and Samajwadi party won one seat each, while Raj Thackeray-led MNS drew a blank in the megapolis.

Former Women and Child Welfare Minister Varsha Gaikwad (Congress) retained her Dharavi seat. She polled 47,718 votes against Shiv Sena's Baburao Mane, who bagged 32,227 votes.

Former Health Minister Suresh Shetty (Congress) lost in Andheri-East and had to be content with third position, polling 37,929 votes. Shiv Sena's Ramesh Latke won with 52,817 votes.

Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council Vinod Tawde (BJP) won from Borivali with a massive margin of over 70,000 votes. He polled 1,02,778 votes, defeating his nearest rival Uttam Agarwal of Shiv Sena got 29,011 votes.

In Mumbadevi, Congress candidate Amin Patel retained his seat polling 39,188 votes against BJP's Atul Shah who got 30,675 votes.

In the suburbs, Aslam Sheikh of Congress retained Malad-West, polling 56,574 votes against BJP's Ram Barot who polled 54,574.

In Wadala, Congress's Kalidas Kolambkar retained his seat by a slender margin. He was locked in a fierce tussle with BJP's Mihir Kotecha, who got 37,740 votes, against Kolambkar's 38,540. Sena's Hemant Doke got 32,080 votes.

Selvam Tamil of BJP won Sion Koliwada bagging 40,869 votes while his Sena rival Mangesh Satamkar got 37,127 votes.

NCP leader Sachin Ahir lost the Worli seat to Shiv Sena's Sunil Shinde. Ahir got 37,547 votes against Shinde's 60,345.

In Shivadi, senior MNS leader Bala Nandgaonkar lost to Shiv Sena's Ajay Chaudhari. Chaudhari got 72,358 votes against Nandgaonkar's 30,509.

In Mahim, MNS's Nitin Sardesai lost to Shiv Sena's Sada Sarvankar. Sarvankar got 46,291 votes against Sardesai's 40,350.

In Byculla, Yusuf Pathan of MIM defeated BJP's Madhu Chavan. Pathan got 25,314 votes against Chavan's 23,957.

In Colaba, BJP's Raj Purohit got 52,608 votes against Pandurang Sakpal of Shiv Sena, who got 28,821 votes.

Mangalprabhat Lodha of BJP retained his Malabar Hill constituency by a huge margin of over 50,000 votes. He polled 68,098 votes against 19,878 of Shiv Sena's Arvind Dudgaonkar.

The suburbs saw the main contest between Sena and BJP while Congress was relegated to third position. Former Mumbai Congress chief Kripashankar Singh lost in Kalina. Shiv Sena's Sanjay Potnis won there, trouncing BJP's Amarjit Singh, while Kripashankar came third.

NCP spokesman Nawab Malik also lost his Anushaktinagar constituency to Shiv Sena's Tukaram Kate by over 1,000 votes.

BJP Mumbai chief Ashish Shelar won from Bandra West defeating sitting Congress MLA Baba Siddique. Shelar polled 74,779 votes against 47,868 of Siddique.

Ameet Satam of BJP (59,022) defeated sitting Congress MLA Ashok Jadhav (34,982) from Andheri west.

Manisha Chaudhari (BJP) with 77,238 votes defeated Vinod Ghosalkar of Shiv Sena who got 38,660 votes in Dahisar. BJP's Bharti Lavhekar(49,182) defeated sitting MLA Baldev Khosa (22,784) in Versova.

In Vikhroli, Shiv Sena's Sunil Raut got elected while in Vile Parle BJP's Parag Alavani bagged the seat defeating Shiv Sena's Shashikant Patkar. Vile Parle's sitting MLA Krishna Hegde was pushed to the third position.

In Jogeshwari East, Shiv Sena's Ravindra Waikar retained his seat defeating BJP's Ujjwala Modak. In Mulund BJP's Sardar Tara Singh retained his seat defeating Congress' Charan Singh Sapra by over 50,000 votes.

In Ghatkopar East BJP's Prakash Mehta won by defeating his nearest Shiv Sena rival by over 40,000 votes.

In Kurla, Sena's Mangesh Kudalkar defeated Vijay Kamble of BJP by a margin of over 13,000 votes.

In Charkop, BJP's Yogesh Sagar retained his seat by over 50,000 votes trouncing his Shiv Sena rival Shubadha Gudekar who got 31,730 votes.

Shiv Sena's Ashok Patil won Bhandup West defeating his BJP rival Manoj Kotak by about 5,000 votes. Senior Shiv Sena leader Subhash Desai was trounced by BJP's Vidya Thakur by about 5,000 votes in Goregaon.

Former Mayor Sunil Prabhu of Shiv Sena won the Dindoshi seat defeating sitting MLA Rajhans Singh of Congress. Prabhu got 56,577 votes while Rajhans got 36,749 votes.

Former Textile Minister Mohammed Arif Naseem Khan retained his Chandivali constituency polling 73,141 votes while his nearest rival Santosh Singh of Shiv Sena got 43,672 votes.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link