This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Maha civic polls: No clear winner in Akola

Last Updated: Friday, February 17, 2012 - 20:09

Akola: No party has won a clear majority
in the Akola Municipal Corporation, as the results of
yesterday`s election came in late on Friday afternoon.

Congress and BJP, with 18 seats each, are the biggest
parties in 73-member house.

Party-wise final results are as follows: Congress (18),
NCP (5), BJP (18), Shiv Sena (8), BRP-BMS Samyukta Vikas
Aghadi (7), UDF (2), Akola Vikas Aghadi (2), Samajawadi Party
(1), MNS (1), independents (11).

Suresh Patil of Congress, who was the Mayor of
Akola Corporation before it was dissolved because of financial
irregularities, had to taste defeat.

Other prominent leaders who lost included Dr Azhar
Hussain (Congress), Dr Kishor Malokar (BJP), Mahadeorao
Bundele (PWP), etc.

City Congress chief and former Mayor Madan Bhargad won by
a margin of only six votes.

The Mayor`s post this time is reserved for a scheduled
caste woman.

There were five couples in the fray, three of which got elected: Sunil Meshram and his wife Madhuri (independents), Sanjay Badone and his wife (independents) Vijay Agrawal and his wife Sunanda (Akola Vikas Aghadi).

First Published: Friday, February 17, 2012 - 20:09

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus