This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Maha Council polls: 11 candidates set to get elected unopposed

Last Updated: Saturday, July 14, 2012 - 19:51

Mumbai: All the eleven candidates who have filed nominations for the Maharashtra Legislative Council polls are set to get elected unopposed.

Today was the last day of filing nominations for eleven seats.

Polling was scheduled for July 25. Since there would be no contest, official announcement of results is expected on July 18, the last date of withdrawal of nomination.

Congress has nominated MPCC chief Manikrao Thakre and former legislators Sanjay Dutt and Sharad Ranpise. Dutt had resigned as MLC to enable Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan get elected to the Council.

The present election became necessary as term of eleven members of the Council, elected by Members of Legislative Assembly, expires on July 27.

BJP has fielded former minister Vijay Girkar and former corporator Ashish Shelar, while Shiv Sena has put up Anil Parab and Vinayak Raut. NCP has fielded Jaidev Gaikwad, Narendra Patil and Amarsinh Pandit.
Another candidate is Jayant Patil of Peasants and Workers Party.

First Published: Saturday, July 14, 2012 - 19:50

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus