Maharashtra revokes suspension of nine MLAs
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, March 29, 2011, 16:04
Mumbai: The boycott of Maharashtra Legislature proceedings by Opposition parties ended on Tuesday with the Lower House revoking the suspension of nine Shiv Sena-BJP legislators.

Nine MLAs were suspended for disrupting the budget presentation by Deputy Chief Minister and Finance Minister Ajit Pawar last week.

The Sena-BJP along with MNS had boycotted the Legislature proceedings to oppose the government's decision. The Opposition in the Legislative Council had also decided to boycott the proceedings.

In the Lower House, the motion to revoke the suspension was moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harshwardhan Patil.

"The nine legislators have expressed regrets at their conduct and assured good behaviour in future," Patil said urging the Lower House to revoke the suspension.

The motion was passed by a voice vote.

The nine members who were suspended comprise Vinod Ghosalkar, Vijay Shivtare, Eknath Shinde, Pratap Sarnaik , Ravindra Vaikar (from Sena) and Vijay Deshmukh, Girish Mahajan, Sardar Tara Singh and Harish Pimpale (from BJP).


First Published: Tuesday, March 29, 2011, 16:04

comments powered by Disqus