This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Sena`s Prabhu elected Mumbai mayor

Last Updated: Friday, March 9, 2012 - 15:05

Mumbai: Shiv Sena Corporator Sunil Prabhu was
today elected mayor of the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation,
India`s richest civic body.

At the elections held at the civic headquarters here,
Prabhu polled 125 votes, defeating Sunil More of Congress, who
secured 65 votes in the 227-member body.

BJP`s Mohan Mithbavkar was elected Deputy Mayor,
defeating NCP corporator Khan Haroon Yusuf. Prabhu, 42, is
among the youngest Mayors of Mumbai.

Following is the party position in Brihanmumbai Municipal
Corporation (BMC) after the February 16 polls: Total seats 227
-- BJP 31, Congress 52, NCP 13, Shiv Sena 75, MNS 28 and
others 28.

Though the Sena-BJP-RPI alliance was short of halfway
mark (114) in the country`s richest municipal body, the bloc
managed to muster the required number with the support of
Independents and others. The two members of the Arun Gawli-led
Akhil Bharatiya Sena also backed the Sena-led combine.

Mumbai had two women Mayors over the last five years
owing to reservations, and this time, the post is under the
open category.

The Mayor`s post, though largely ceremonial, is
considered to be prestigious. The clout the post brings with
it is a major reason why corporators lobby hard to vie for
becoming Mumbai`s first citizen.


First Published: Friday, March 9, 2012 - 15:05
comments powered by Disqus