Shiv Sena, BJP to share power in Kalyan-Dombivali Municipal Corporation

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting between state BJP president Raosaheb Danve and senior Sena leader Subhash Desai.

Mumbai: Putting behind the rancour of bitterly-fought Kalyan-Dombivali Municipal Corporation (KDMC) elections, Shiv Sena and BJP Friday decided to strike a deal to share power in the civic body following a hung verdict.

A decision to this effect was taken at a meeting between state BJP president Raosaheb Danve and senior Sena leader and state Industries Minister Subhash Desai here.

Today's meeting came after a round of talks held between Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Sena leader and state PWD Minister Eknath Shinde at the former's official residence 'Varsha' here.

Sena had emerged as the single largest party bagging 52 seats in the 122-member KDMC but fell short of a majority. BJP came second winning 42 seats, improving on its earlier tally of nine. With the decision to share power, the combined strength of Sena and BJP would be 94.

Congress won four, while NCP got two seats in the polls that took place last Sunday. Raj Thackeray-led MNS managed to get 9 seats while BSP and MIM won one seat each. Nine independent candidates also emerged as winners.

The election to the post of Mayor will be held on November 11, while the last date of filing nomination papers is November 7. The election to the Mayor's post will be held by secret ballot.

According to sources, Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena has offered a power-sharing formula to BJP to end the deadlock in KDMC.

Sources said the power-sharing formula entails that Sena will get the Mayor's post for four years, while BJP will get it for one year. The chairmanship of the standing committee will be held by BJP for three years and the remaining two years by Sena.

The formula worked out is similar to the one the two parties share in Aurangabad Municipal Corporation.

Meanwhile, in a statement issued by BJP this evening, the party said further talks between the two parties will be held by Minister for Finance and Planning Sudhir Mungantiwar (BJP) and PWD Minister Eknath Shinde (Sena).

After the two leaders work out the modalities and arrive at a power-sharing formula, the top leadership of both the parties are expected to give their final approval.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link