This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Suspended MLAs allowed to enter Vidhan Bhavan for deposition

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 26, 2013 - 21:01

Mumbai: Maharashtra Assembly today approved a proposal allowing five suspended MLAs to enter inside the Vidhan Bhavan for the purpose of deposition before a legislative committee, probing their alleged role in thrashing of a cop on the premises last week.

The proposal moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harshwardhan Patil in the Lower House was approved by a voice vote.

Five legislators, Ram Kadam (MNS), Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Agadhi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Jaykumar Rawal (BJP) and Pradeep Jaiswal (Independent) were suspended for rest of the year and prohibited from entering the Vidhan Bhavan premises in Mumbai and Nagpur, following hue and cry over the attack.
The government has set up a committee under veteran legislator Ganpatrao Deshmukh to probe the incident.


First Published: Tuesday, March 26, 2013 - 21:00

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus