Tahira Rashid Shaikh elected as Malegaon Mayor

Last Updated: Friday, June 15, 2012 - 19:14

Malegaon: Congress`s Tahira Rashid Shaikh was elected as the Mayor of Malegaon Municipal Corporation today.

Shaikh defeated NCP`s Rabia Shakil Ahmed by 42 votes. Shaikh polled 52 votes, against Rabia`s 10.

`Tisara Mahaj` group`s Jamil Ahmed Ansari got elected as the Deputy Mayor, defeating NCP`s Ajiju Rehman Iqbal.

Twelve corporators of Shiv Sena abstained from voting while Janata Dal (Secular)`s four corporators staged a walk-out to protest murder of terror suspect Quateel Siddiqui at Yerawada jail last week.

Congress, with 25 corporators, is the biggest group in the 80-member house. Tisara Mahaj has 19 corporators, followed by Shiv Sena`s 11.


First Published: Friday, June 15, 2012 - 19:14

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus