This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

12 sentenced to 5 years in Kandhamal communal riots

Last Updated: Monday, August 30, 2010 - 23:31

Phulbani: Twelve people were
convicted and sentenced to rigorous imprisonment for five
years while 75 others acquitted today in three separate cases
relating to the communal riot in Kandhamal.

The three cases were disposed by two fast track courts

While judge S K Das sentenced 12 people to five years
rigorous imprisonment and penalty of Rs 3,000 each for their
involvement in house burning incidents at Chatijhara
village under Tikabali police station, five others were
acquitted due to lack of evidence.

In another case involving burning of a church at
Sasalanda village under Phulbani Sadar Police Station, judge
Das acquitted all the 64 persons due to lack of evidence.

The other court acquitted six persons allegedly
involved in a house burning incident at Drakinga village under
G Udaygiri police station area. The prosecution failed to
arrange evidence against them.

All the cases were registered at three different
police stations during the Kandhamal riot in 2008.


First Published: Monday, August 30, 2010 - 23:31

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus