2011-12 to be celebrated as Civil Aviation Centenary Year
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Tuesday, January 04, 2011, 21:44
New Delhi: On February 18, 1911, the first commercial flight was operated in India -- between Allahabad and Naini.

To commemorate it, the year 2011-2012 will be celebrated as Civil Aviation Centenary Year.

"Indian Civil Aviation is completing 100 years on 18th February, 2011. The centenary year would start from February 18 this year and end on the same date in 2012," a Civil Aviation Ministry spokesperson said in a statement on Tuesday.

During the celebrations, activities like air shows, release of stamp by the President, issue of commemorative coins, coffee table book, establishment of an Aviation University, road shows and exhibitions in state capitals and smaller exhibitions at all airports are expected to be held.

"To commemorate the occasion, Ministry of Civil Aviation has constituted a high-level committee chaired by Civil Aviation Minister Praful Patel to deliberate on the scale and the modalities of the celebrations," she said.

The committee would deliberate on the period of celebrations, formulate action plan for the entire year and decide events to be undertaken.

It will also decide the locations where different events will take place, co-opt members to broaden the membership base, locate appropriate budgetary sources to finance the celebrations apart from assigning responsibilities to individuals and institutions for the organisation of events and constitute organising committees for their conduct.

The committee would also have former Civil Aviation Ministers Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sharad Yadav, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, Shahnawaz Hussain and Anant Kumar as members.

It would also consist of Indians who have contributed to civil aviation -- like Rakesh Sharma, first Indian astronaut Vijaypath Singhania, Air Marshal Arjan Singh, the first lady pilot in the commander's seat in India Saudamini Deshmukh, MP and Chairman of Aeroclub of India Capt Satish Sharma, Capt G Gopinath and MPs Deepender Hooda and Naveen Jindal.

Secretaries of Ministries of Civil Aviation, Defence and Tourism, Chairpersons of all Indian airlines, Chairpersons of all Indian airports, CMD of Pawan Hans, Chairman of ISRO, eminent pilots, representatives of HAL, BCAS, DGCA would also be part of the committee, the statement said.

"It is planned that the private sector, being major stakeholders in Indian civil aviation, will be adopted in the celebrations as major partners," the statement said.


First Published: Tuesday, January 04, 2011, 21:44

comments powered by Disqus