29 Andhra legislators loyal to Jagan quit

The MLAs who submitted their resignations include 26 of the Congress, two of the opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and one from the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP).

Hyderabad: In fresh trouble for the Congress
in Andhra Pradesh, 24 of its MLAs and two TDP rebel
legislators Monday resigned protesting inclusion of late chief minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy`s name in the CBI FIR in a probe into his son Jaganmohan`s assets.

The ruling Congress MLAs resigned both from the Assembly and the primary membership of the party over the issue and faxed the resignation letters to APCC headquarters.

The 26 MLAs, who submitted their resignations to
Legislature Secretary S Raja Sadaram today, have been sailing
with Jagan, Kadapa MP and YSR Congress President, for the past
few months.

Disqualification petitions are pending against seven of
these MLAs, including one who did not resign today.

Three Jagan-loyal MLAs from Telangana region did not
submit their resignations claiming they had already put in
their papers over the statehood issue.

Those who did not resign include Konda Surekha, Jayasudha Kapoor and Kunja Satyavathi.
Though their earlier resignations were rejected by
Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar, along with 98 other
rejections, the three MLAs contended that their papers still
held good.

"We will challenge the rejection of our resignations
legally. The cause for which we tendered our resignations still
holds good," Konda Surekha said.

It was for the Telangana cause that they had resigned and
not for Jagan, she admitted but added that they had quit the
Congress party today on the Jagan issue.

The lone MLA of YSR Congress and its honorary president Y
S Vijayamma did not tender her resignation which party sources
said was "part of a strategy".


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link