32 elected unopposed to RS; Cong garners 8 seats, BSP 7

32 candidates elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha today with Congress garnering 8 seats & BSP 7.

New Delhi: Union Minister Ambika Soni,
Gandhi family loyalist Satish Sharma, BJP leader Mukhtar Abbas
Naqvi and senior journalist Chandan Mitra were among 32
candidates elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha today with the
Congress garnering eight seats and the BSP seven.

The BJP bagged six seats, the DMK three, the SP, the
NCP and the AIADMK two apiece and the Shiromani Akali Dal and
the Shiv Sena one each as all 32 made it to the Upper House
after the deadline for withdrawal of nominations drew to close
this evening.

With 32 aspirants in race for as many seats from Uttar
Pradesh (11), Maharashtra (6), TN (6), Madhya Pradesh (3),
Punjab (2), Chhattisgarh (2),Rajasthan (1) and Uttarakhand (1)
and as no one opted out of contest, all of them were declared
elected to the Council of States by respective Returning

In Uttar Pradesh, the ruling BSP got seven berths as
Congress leader Satish Sharma and BJP vice-president Naqvi
were among 11 elected uncontested to the House of Elders.

Besides Sharma and Naqvi, others elected to the Council
of States are Satish Chandra Misra, S P Singh Baghel, Ambed
Rajan, Jugal Kishore, Narendra Kashyap, Mohd Salim Ansari and
Rajpal Saini (all BSP) and Mohan Singh and Rashid Masood (SP).

Among the Elders retiring from UP on July four, seven
belonged to the SP and two to the BSP.

Union Minister and Congress leader Ambika Soni and
SAD general secretary Balwinder Singh Bhunder were declared
elected unopposed from Punjab.

Vijay Darda and Avinash Pande (both Congress), Tariq
Anwar and Ishwarlal Jain (both NCP), Piyush Goel (BJP) and
Sanjay Raut (Shiv Sena) were elected from Maharashtra.

Kanhaiyalal Gidwani of the Congress withdrew from the
contest on the last day leaving six in the fray for as many
seats from the state.

Three candidates of the ruling DMK, two of the AIADMK
and one of the Congress were elected to the Rajya Sabha from
Tamil Nadu.

They are K P Ramalingam, TM Selvaganapathy, S Thangavelu
(all DMK), Manoj Pandian and K V Ramalingam (both AIADMK) and
E M Sudarsana Natchiappan (Congress).

BJP`s Chandan Mitra and Anil Madhav Dave and Vijaylaxmi
Sadho of the Congress made it to the Upper Houser from Madhya

Congress leader Mohsina Kidwai and BJP`s Nand Kumar Sai
were elected from Chhattisgarh.

With the Opposition BJP did not fielding any candidate
for a Rajya Sabha bypoll from Rajasthan, Narendra Budhaniya of
the Congress was declared elected unopposed.

The by-election arose after BJP`s K K Valmiki died early
this year.

For June 17 biennial elections to four Upper House seats
from the state, five candidates are vying for the honour.

Prominent among them are Union Minister Anand Sharma,
legal luminary Ram Jethmalani of the BJP and Santosh Bagrodia
who entered the race as an Independent.

BJP spokesman Tarun Vijay was declared elected unopposed
for the lone RS seat from the hill state of Uttarakhand.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link