This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Andhra, Rayalseema ministers decide to quit

The ministers from Andhra and Rayalaseema regions have decided to resign over separate Telengana state.

Hyderabad: The political crisis in Andhra Pradesh deepened further on Saturday with all the ministers from Andhra and Rayalaseema regions deciding to resign to protest the Central government`s decision to form a separate Telangana state.

All 20 ministers from the two regions held a meeting at a hotel here and decided to submit their resignations to Chief Minister K Rosaiah.

Minister for Municipal Administration Anam Ramnarayana Reddy told reporters that they would meet Rosaiah to convey their decision and submit the resignations.

"There is pressure on us from the people to join the movement for a united Andhra Pradesh and hence we have decided to quit," he said.

There are 13 ministers from Telangana region. Rosaiah, a member of legislative council, also hails from Andhra.

As many as 130 legislators from the two regions have submitted their resignations to Assembly Speaker. They include 76 legislators from the ruling Congress party.


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



SP MP Naresh Agrawal made hurtful comments, media just did its job

Crafting a new world order: The shift from the West to Asia will have India as its focus

Trauma or drama: Can anyone explain why Behenji is riled up?

President-elect Kovind: Big mandate, bigger pressure

DNA Edit: Opposition in a crisis