This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Assembly Elections: Almost all sitting Cong MLAs likely to get tickets in Delhi

PTI | Last Updated: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 23:48

New Delhi: Almost all sitting MLAs of Congress, barring a few who have serious criminal charges against them, are likely to be renominated for Delhi assembly polls.

Sources in the party said a "broad decision" on giving tickets to the sitting MLAs have been taken by the Screening Committee headed by V Narayanasamy.

The Committee today discussed various issues regarding finalising criteria for candidates in 28 seats where Congress candidates were defeated in 2008 assembly polls.

The sources said Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and DPCC President JP Agarwal have already prepared a panel of probable candidates for each of the 28 constituencies.

Sources said the Screening Committee will meet again in a day or two to shortlist the candidates.

They said the Screening Committee will again examine whether the shortlisted aspirants fulfill the criteria and guidelines for selection of candidates.

Besides, Narayansamy, other members of the Screening Committee include Bhubaneshwar Kalita, Shakeel Ahmed, JP Agarwal, Dikshit and Kuldip Nagra.

The 27-member Election Committee, in its three meetings, had failed to finalise a list of probable candidates following differences among the members and left it to the Screening panel to shortlist the ticket aspirants.

Around 1,600 Congress men have applied for tickets.
The list of probable candidates will be sent to AICC Central Election Committee headed by Sonia Gandhi.

First Published: Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 23:48
comments powered by Disqus