This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bhagalpur riots: Ten get rigorous imprisonment

A Bihar court Thursday awarded 7 years jail to 10 persons convicted in the Bhagalpur riots case.

Bhagalpur: A Bihar court has sentenced 10 persons to rigorous imprisonment for seven years for attacking a police party during Bhagalpur riots in 1989.
The 2nd additional district and sessions judge Anil Kumar also slapped a fine of Rs 2,000 on each of them.
The judge had on Tuesday acquitted 10 others in the case. The police party, led by the then officer-in-charge of Sultanganj police station, Prem Ranjan Sharma, was attacked when on November 14, 1989 it went to Kamarganj locality in Bhagalpur to inquire about the reported killing of five people by a riotous mob.

Twenty people were named as accused in an FIR lodged by Sharma in this connection.


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



President-elect Kovind: Big mandate, bigger pressure

DNA Edit: Opposition in a crisis

Ram Nath Kovind elected as new President: How it can help PM Modi en route 2019

India Inc’s growth story will be powered by coal energy

Curious case of sleeping parties