BJP leader Arun Jaitley elected uncontested to RS
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Thursday, March 22, 2012, 21:22
New Delhi: Union Ministers Vilasrao Deshmukh, Rajiv Shukla, Mukul Roy and BJP leader Arun Jaitley were today elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha even as NRI businessman Anshuman Mishra in Jharkhand and Congress leader Abdul Mannan in West Bengal withdrew from fray.

Hours before the deadline for withdrawal of nominations for the biennial polls in 15 states ended this evening, Mishra, whose candidature was proposed by six BJP MLAs sparking resentment among the party's senior leaders, withdrew his nomination.

Mishra dropped out facing the prospect of defeat in the polls after several senior BJP central leaders revolting against his nomination which reportedly had the backing of party chief Nitin Gadkari.

In West Bengal, Mannan pulled out of fray following a directive from Congress central leadership, avoiding a possible face-off with its ruling coalition partner Trinamool Congress and facilitating unchallenged win of Railway Minister Mukul Roy and 3 other candidates of TMC. A lone opposition CPI(M) nominee was also elected.

Jaitley was elected from Gujarat for his third successive term in the upper house from the state.

Deshmukh and Shukla of Congress, NCP's D P Tripathi and Vandana Chavan, BJP's Ajay Sancheti and Shiv Sena's Anil Desai were elected uncontested in Maharashtra where voting was averted by withdrawal of Pune-based builder Sanjay Kakade and Prakash Binsale, a third NCP candidate, from the fray.

In Madhya Pradesh, Najma Heptullah and cash-vote-for scam accused Faggan Singh Kulaste are among 4 BJP nominees elected unopposed besides the lone Congress nominee Satyawat Chatruvedi, the party's spokesman.

Superstar-turned-politician Chiranjeevi, former Union Minister Renuka Choudhary (both from Congress) and former state Home Minister T Devender Goud of Telugu Desam Party were elected unopposed in Andhra Pradesh along with three others. Of the 6 seats in the state, 4 went to Congress and 2 to TDP.


First Published: Thursday, March 22, 2012, 21:22

comments powered by Disqus