Cabinet nod for constitution of 19th Law Commission

Last Updated: Thursday, October 22, 2009 - 20:58

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet today
approved the constitution of the 19th Law Commission for three

With the Cabinet`s approval, the Law Ministry will
soon name the chairperson and full-time members of the new

The 19th Commission has been constituted with effect
from September 1 for three years. The term of the 18th
Commission, headed by retired Supreme Court judge A R
Lakshmanan, ended on August 31.

The previous Commission had produced 32 reports on
various aspects of improvement in judicial system.

In its report on legal reforms to deal with road
accidents, the Commission had recommended stringent punishment
for people found guilty.

It had also recommended creation of a Constitution
bench of the Supreme Court and establishment of four regional
benches of the apex court.

The Law Commission is a non-statutory body constituted
by the government from time to time. Its recommendations are
not binding on the government.

The various Law Commissions constituted since 1955
have, so far, produced 234 reports out of which 225 have been
tabled in Parliament.

Bureau Report

First Published: Thursday, October 22, 2009 - 20:58

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus