Campaigning for 2nd phase of polling in Jharkhand ends
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, November 30, 2009, 22:00
Ranchi: Campaigning for the second phase of Jharkhand assembly polls on December 2 on Monday ended amid Maoist-imposed 48-hour bandh in the state.

Congress leaders promised a corruption-free government against the backdrop of former chief minister Madhu Koda's alleged involvement in a multi-crore rupees scam.

The party is in alliance with Jhakhand Vikas Morcha led by former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi.

Union ministers Ambika Soni and Ajay Maken campaigned for the party along with state-level leaders.

Pledging development of the state, BJP charged the Congress with having secret sharing of profits of crime during the 23-month rule of Madhu Koda. The Centre's failure to rein in the Maoists also figured in the party's campaign.

Senior BJP leaders like Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley were the star campaigners for the party.

JMM President Shibu Soren said his detractors had prevented him from ruling Jharkhand which, he claimed, was created after decades of struggle by him.

The tribal leader, who is not in the fray, promised to protect the interests of the state.

RJD supremo Lalu Prasad and LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan, whose parties are contesting in alliance with the left parties, ridiculed the Congress for aligning with Babulal Marandi "who had an RSS background."

While CPIML (Liberation) General Secretary Dipankar Bhattacharya accused the UPA of encouraging corruption during the Koda regime, CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury appealed to the voters to send some Left leaders to the assembly to raise people-friendly issues.

A total of 30,96,854 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in 14 assembly seats going to polls in the second phase.

Former minister Bandhu Tirkey, RJD veteran Annapurna Devi and senior Congress leader Manoj Yadav are some of the prominent leaders in the fray for the second phase polling.


First Published: Monday, November 30, 2009, 22:00

comments powered by Disqus