Centre to extend e-governance programme to 28 more cities
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Sunday, March 21, 2010, 10:18
New Delhi: Getting birth certificates, payment of utility bills and property tax will now be easier in cities having a population of five lakh and above, with the Centre deciding to extend its e-governance programme to such towns.

The Urban Development Ministry's National Mission Mode Project (NMMP) on e-governance in municipalities aims at improving operational efficiencies and promoting transparency and accountability in delivery of eight different types of municipal services.

So far, the project was limited to cities having a population of 10 lakh and above.

Sources said the government has now decided to extend the facility in all cities having a population of five lakh and above with an aim to provide prompt service to the citizens.

The proposal is to extend the project to 28 more cities having a population of 5 lakh and above apart from the present 65 cities with a population of 10 lakh and above.

"Ultimately, the aim is to cover all 423 towns with population of over 1 lakh as per 2001 census. This will take some time as the state governments too have to take the same initiative," said an official.

Eight services are covered under e-governance which include registration and issuance of birth certificate, payment of property tax and utility bills, citizen grievances and building plan approvals.

Procurements and monitoring of projects, health programmes, including licenses and solid waste management, accounting system and personal Information System are also a part of the e-governance project. Information and service delivery of all these would be available online and citizens could avail the facilities at the click of a button.

In the beginning, NMMP on e-governance was implemented in 35 cities having population of above 10 lakh as per 2001 census under JNNURM.


First Published: Sunday, March 21, 2010, 10:18

comments powered by Disqus